Hello World!

My name is Alvaro Mendoza and this is my personal website / blog.

I studied bioinformatics in Uni and became fascinated with software and data. Since then I’ve been trying to learn more and more about how to make computers do things I find incredible.

My main languages are Python and R, because of the whole “data” thing, but lately I’ve been trying to learn a bit of Julia and Rust.

At work, I help make data scientists’ life easier by delivering analytics-ready data (and I think that’s about as much as I’m allowed to say).

In general, I like wrangling and visualizing data a lot using the tidyverse. I also love Python’s flexibility when it comes to building any type of software. I have made small videogames, built client/server apps, and created a Discord bot to roll DnD dice.

I believe that using software to analyze data is a bit of a superpower, and I like to share it with non profit organisations by volunteering with DataKind.

Enjoy your read!